Basa Fish Rolls stuffed with Mushrooms in a White Wine Sauce

Dear Cousins!

How are you guys doing? I want to share a news with you! Hehehhee…no no..don’t guess, coz I am sure you guys don’t know (and trust me it not anything usual!).  Well actually I bought a Guitar!! yipppppeeeee!! Since I was in school where we had those music classes, I wanted to learn Guitar. But I was too shy to go up to the teacher and ask her to help learn this instrument…Sandra Banerjee, our western music teacher at Mater Dei Convent was truly one of the best music teacher I have ever had.  She was good with everything..the piano, the guitar, the drums!! Oh and her voice..I loved her powerful voice which would would remind many of Whoopi Goldberg in Sister Act…..be it a hymn or a popular song, she was the best!! Every event, small or big ended with her singing the popular rock number of 90s What’s Up” by 4 Non Blondes.

I still remember her running heartily from one end of the hall to the stage, coolly picking up the Guitar, and striking those familiar chords which would make the whole crowd roar and clap in appreciation….with her guitar and her voice she would wake up the likes of me who would be sleeping during an inter-school debating competition!! ๐Ÿ˜€ All I did at that time was clap loudly and imagine myself singing like her one day….that never happened though coz you know how life is….I got caught up in the race to achieve goals….studies, exams, career…but now I have some time and thought, why not use it to fulfill my childhood dreams. Hence the GUITAR came into my life. Possibly I would never play like our teacher, but nevertheless her love for music would always inspire me!! My friends who have learned guitar themselves tell me that I need a lot of patience….so I just hope I don’t loose patience!! Wish me luck and then one fine day while you guys eat a lovely meal (like the one below), I will play the guitar for you!

Till then, I will continue with my recipes and today’s is one of them which would go very well with the music of the guitar in the background (I think). Its a recipe I saw in an old English style  book from 1980. With a few additional ingredients, I present to you a plateful of soft fish fillets stuffed with mushroom in a white wine sauce!

Fish Rolls stuffed with Mushrooms in a White Wine Sauce
Basa Fish Rolls stuffed with Mushrooms in a White Wine Sauce

Basa Fish Rolls stuffed with Mushrooms in a White Wine Sauce

6 Basa Fillets 20 cm long & 8 cm wide (or any boneless fish)

200 gm Button Mushrooms (original recipe had Shrimps)

1 Onion

2-3 cloves of Garlic

4-5 Tbsp of Breadcrumbs

1 Tbsp Chilli Flakes (optional)

4 Tbsp Walnuts (or any nuts to make the filling crunchy)

4 Tbsp of Chives

1 cup White Wine

1/2 cup Water

2 Tbsp White Flour

4 Tbsp Butter

1/2 cup Sour Cream/Yoghurt

Salt and Pepper to taste

Fresh Salad to serve

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Chop the onions, garlic and mushrooms in to small pieces. In a pot, put some butter and fry the garlic, then onions and add the mushrooms.  Season and cook till mushrooms are soft and the water has evaporated. Take off the flame and throw in the chopped walnuts, breadcrumbs, chilli flakes and 2 tbsp of chives. The mixture should be stiff enough to form 6 golf-sized balls.  If its not, you can add a lil more of the breadcrumbs.  Then take each fillet, sprinkle a bit of salt and pepper on one side and put the ball in an elongated manner, so that the fillet can be rolled (check the slideshow).  Seal with toothpicks. Do this to all the fillets and set aside. Take a pan, pour the water  and half of the wine in it, and bring to boil. Place the fish rolls, cover and cook for 4 minutes or till the fish becomes white from translucent. With a pair of tongs, pick them and place them in a baking dish.

Retain the left over water-wine mix. In this liquid, put some butter and let it simmer.  Mix the sour cream/yoghurt with white flour and pour in the simmering white wine liquid. Add rest of the wine, chives and season it. Let it cook till it reaches a thick consistency. Remove from heat and ladle the sauce over the fish rolls in the baking dish. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 200 degree Celsius for 20 mins or till the sauce starts to turn golden brown on the top.

Serve the Basa Rolls with a garden fresh salad, a glass of White Wine, and yes, with some beautiful music ๐Ÿ™‚

Daibi, you had this when you were here, so you can replicate it again. Didi, do try this dish…it is divine!!

Hope to hear your comments…really miss updates from you two ๐Ÿ˜ฆ write back soon..

Love, Dakhina

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Niloy Dutta says:

    awesomeness!

    1. thnks darling ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Manjari Sinharay says:

    Lovely…have to try out this soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. thnks!! do let us know when you try it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment