My Nine Year Old’s Superfast Rava Uttapam (Savory Semolina Pancakes)

Dear Cousins,

Yesterday was Sunday and my baby ( he will be mad at me for calling him that he is after all nine!) son, Riz Rishi made us breakfast…all on his own!

How terribly proud I felt as I hovered around like a clucking mother hen, while my boy shooed me away. He chopped onions and tomatoes on his own, even mixed the batter and adjusting the seasoning like a pro. It was so immensely satisfying to watch those small fingers wield the knife, as he told me how to chop tomatoes the best way…and how he loved to eat tortillas better than omelettes.  Tell me did we ever know the difference till a few years back! As I clicked away at him cooking, he even had the time to pose and smile…nothing harrowed about Mr. Suave.

Uttapam by my lil 9 yr old!

Uttapam by my lil 9 yr old!

He made us the fluffiest, tastiest Uttapam’s that we have ever eaten. and I am not saying that because I am the Proudest Mama in the world!

So here is his recipe of Sunday morning breakfast Super-fast semolina Uttapam.

Ingredients ( Serves 4)

2 cups Suji/Rava ( Semolina)

2 cups Sour Curd/Yogurt

2-3 Finely Diced Onions

2-3 Chopped Tomatoes

2 Sprig Curry Leaves

1-2 Deseeded and Chopped Green Chilies( Optional)

1 tsp Black Mustard Seeds

1 tsp Baking Powder/Soda

Salt to Taste

Oil

Little Water

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Method

In a bowl, mix together the Semolina, Curd/Yogurt, Mustard seeds and salt. Keep aside for twenty minutes.

After twenty minutes , add the chopped Onions, Curry leaves, Green chilies and Baking powder.

Add a little water to thin it to a thick batter consistency.

In a nonstick pan, spray a little oil, spread 2 ladle-full of the batter, on the top arrange a few pieces of chopped Tomatoes. Flip over when the sides turn opaque. Fry on the other side.

Serve hot with pickle or coconut chutney.

Riz recommends a dollop of butter on the pancakes for just that extra something!

Its needless to say that it was two proud parents who polished off their plates with a warm fuzzy feeling blanketing their heart, on a cold winter morning.

Love you

Didi

One comment on “My Nine Year Old’s Superfast Rava Uttapam (Savory Semolina Pancakes)

  1. Mishti says:

    Yummm.. And my Sunday brunch is decided!!

Leave a Reply

